Bug 813 - fully remove product and version information
fully remove product and version information
Product: Samba 3.0
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Config Files
Other other
: P3 enhancement
: none
Assigned To: Samba Bugzilla Account
Depends on:
  Show dependency treegraph
Reported: 2003-11-25 07:51 UTC by Florian Effenberger
Modified: 2003-11-25 09:04 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:


Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Florian Effenberger 2003-11-25 07:51:01 UTC
I would like to see an option in the configuration files to fully remove product
and version information from the server's protocol.

It is part of my security concept to NOT show anything like that to outside users.
Comment 1 Gerald (Jerry) Carter 2003-11-25 09:04:34 UTC
hiding the version provides no additional security.
The current behavior was decided upon by consent 
on the samba-technical mailing list.

However if you want to do this, see 
smbd/sesssetup.c:add_signature() and make sure to
set the 'server string' appropriately in smb.conf.