According to the smb.conf man page, the service parameter, "Only User = No",
when in Share level security, should make the service not be restricted by the
User = parameter. Instead, what should happen in share level security is the
following: all users accounts in the password databases should be matched
against the password supplied by the client.
What I'm seeing is the service authentication being controller by the user =
parameter no matter what is specified for Only User =.
Moreover, once this is fixed :), I think the default on shares should be Only
User = Yes.
reseting target milestone. 3.0.1 has been frozen. WIll have to
i'm marking this parameter as deprecated in 3.0
to be removed.
originally reported against 3.0alpha23. Bugzilla spring cleaning.