The Samba-Bugzilla – Bug 5438
after force samba to reload configuration, the directory removed still can be accessed
Last modified: 2008-05-05 03:28:39 UTC
If add one shared directory to smb.conf,then try kill -HUP `pidof smbd` ,you can access the new directory from winxp.
But if remove one shared directory from smb.conf, then try kill -HUP `pidof smbd`, you still can access the removed directory from winxp.
It seems that the only way is restart the samba such as /sbin/service smb restart. If someone is copying file wile the samba is restarted, the copying process will be interrupt.
a configuration reload checks for changed parameters it does not initialize anything, that's why you can't just remove a share and expect it to be gone. You can use availabe=no if you want to remove a share on the fly.