Bug 4373 - The owner is changed automatically when modify a file via SMB on MAC OS X
The owner is changed automatically when modify a file via SMB on MAC OS X
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: Samba 3.0
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Client Tools
3.0.22
Other Mac OS X
: P3 normal
: none
Assigned To: James Peach
Samba QA Contact
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-02-07 02:24 UTC by Michelle Zhang
Modified: 2007-02-07 13:18 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Michelle Zhang 2007-02-07 02:24:33 UTC
Mac OS X 10.4.6
Step1: On Mac OS X, click "Finder" and input "smb://10.10.1.44" to connect to Linux PC where the Samba service has already started.

Step2: Login as user "b", enter a public share and find there is a public file names "1.txt". (The owner of "1.txt" is user "a", by command "ls -l" in Linux).

Step3: User "b" open 1.txt, and modify it, then save it.

Error:
When I go back to Linux PC and execute "ls -l", I find the owner of 1.txt has been changed!! The owner is changed to user "b", not "a" any more!!
Comment 1 Michelle Zhang 2007-02-07 02:44:42 UTC
Sorry, there is a mistake in step1. 
It should be: Click "connect to server", not "Finder"...
Comment 2 Gerald (Jerry) Carter 2007-02-07 04:10:00 UTC
James, handing this one off to you.
Comment 3 James Peach 2007-02-07 13:18:22 UTC
This almost certainly depends on the application doing the save. If the application writes to a scratch file and then renames to the final filename, you will see this.