Bug 4264 - Client continues to work with share that I delete from smb.conf
Client continues to work with share that I delete from smb.conf
Status: RESOLVED INVALID
Product: Samba 3.0
Classification: Unclassified
Component: nmbd
3.0.21c
Sparc Solaris
: P3 major
: none
Assigned To: Samba Bugzilla Account
Samba QA Contact
:
: 10485 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2006-11-28 10:10 UTC by Omer Haklay
Modified: 2014-07-01 10:35 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Omer Haklay 2006-11-28 10:10:58 UTC
Run at unix solaris 10 - sparc

 

I created a directory /tmp/share

 

Before the add share the smb.conf is: 

[global[

      workgroup = CIFS-DOMAIN

      wins server = 172.16.20.227

      netbios name = bellona

      security = SHARE

      password server = *

      server string = CLLF

      load printers = no

      socket options = TCP_NODELAY

      local master = no

      domain master = no

      lock directory = /tmp

      name resolve order = lmhosts wins  bcast

      dns proxy = yes

      winbind uid = 1-65535

      winbind gid = 1-65535

      idmap uid = 1-65535

      idmap gid = 1-65535

      log file = /var/tmp/samba_log.%m

      max log size = 50

      syslog = 0

      interfaces = 172.16.4.97 172.16.4.92

 

Add share – the smb.conf is:

 

]global[

      workgroup = CIFS-DOMAIN

      wins server = 172.16.20.227

      netbios name = bellona

      security = SHARE

      password server = *

      server string = CLLF

      load printers = no

      socket options = TCP_NODELAY

      local master = no

      domain master = no

      lock directory = /tmp

      name resolve order = lmhosts wins  bcast

      dns proxy = yes

      winbind uid = 1-65535

      winbind gid = 1-65535

      idmap uid = 1-65535

      idmap gid = 1-65535

      log file = /var/tmp/samba_log.%m

      max log size = 50

      syslog = 0

      interfaces = 172.16.4.97 172.16.4.92

 

 

]share[

      path = /tmp/share

      read only = no

      guest ok = yes

      use sendfile = yes

 

 

 run  pkill -1 smbd; pkill -1 nmbd at server

 

Connect from client to \\server\share

 

  Delete share from smb.conf

 

   run  pkill -1 smbd; pkill -1 nmbd at server

 

  From client I can still map to \\server\share

  

    and create files
Comment 1 Björn Jacke 2007-11-22 12:57:38 UTC
removing options does not disable them if they have been set before. If you want to disable a share without restarting smbd you might for example set "available=no" for that share.
Comment 2 Omer Haklay 2007-11-26 05:29:13 UTC
I did this change.
The client can't connect to share, but if it connected before, it can continue to work in the share and create files
Comment 3 Volker Lendecke 2007-11-26 05:36:56 UTC
This is by design.

Volker
Comment 4 Björn Jacke 2014-07-01 10:35:09 UTC
*** Bug 10485 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***