Bug 3173 - old server, new client, unrecognized option problem
old server, new client, unrecognized option problem
Status: CLOSED INVALID
Product: rsync
Classification: Unclassified
Component: core
2.6.5
All Linux
: P3 normal
: ---
Assigned To: Wayne Davison
Rsync QA Contact
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2005-10-16 08:32 UTC by Mikko Rauhala
Modified: 2007-02-10 23:07 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Mikko Rauhala 2005-10-16 08:32:17 UTC
When using a newer client than a server, there's an irritating feature that the
client seems to automatically send all options to the server, and at least I
didn't find any way to turn it off. This causes trouble in some cases, so there
should be at least an option that disables sending another option to the server,
or an option to disregard, without failing, any unknown options.

More spesifically, I'm currently having trouble with wanting to use
--remove-sent-files on the local end when pushing files to a slightly older
rsync server. Here the server really wouldn't even need to know about the switch
being used, but if it is, the whole operation nevertheless fails.

I've verified this on 2.6.5 (Ubuntu) but didn't notice anything in the
changelogs to indicate that this was fixed.
Comment 1 Wayne Davison 2005-10-16 16:39:59 UTC
The --remove-sent-files option must be supported by both sides in order to work.
Comment 2 Mikko Rauhala 2005-10-16 17:28:30 UTC
I see, though what I do not see is how this is sanely possible, and would
consider it a bug in itself. Recall that this happens also when the client is
the only one doing any sending (and therefore deleting) whatsoever?
Comment 3 Matt McCutchen 2007-02-10 23:07:28 UTC
The sender does not delete each sent file until it gets confirmation that the receiver has successfully reconstructed it.  The receiving side needs to understand --remove-sent-files so that it can send these confirmations.